Wow. I was a mess.

In light of the upcoming Summer Olympic season, I was interviewed about my could-have-been claim to fame with a brief weightlifting career. I’m 5′ 3″ and currently a rounded 130lbs. I used to compete at 127.6lbs (a lot more muscle than present day). This was circa 2008. And my body was a mere means to my identity.

Essentially, I went from a nobody to a 2012 Olympic hopeful, on to a somebody. I say ‘somebody’ because how I determine my value has radically changed since. I was just another kid fumbling through college trying new stupid, destructive identities on for size and then entered notoriety because I’m physically strong. I was really strong. When that didn’t pan out I was left empty, void of identity and very, very lonely. I was surrounded by people who love me but felt like I had let them down by not making it to London 2012.

Now, by the grace of God, I am what I am (1 Corinthians 15:10). I am a somebody. I am His somebody (2 Corinthians 5:17). Aspire to what you will but if your identity isn’t in Christ, I know how miserable you are. Just like training for the gold, you’re going to have a bit of training to do to grow into your promised identity through faith in Jesus Christ. However, as my very wise friend used to tell her science students, “If you do what you’ve always done, you’ll get what you’ve always got.” I was a mess but I’m not anymore. God has polished this stone into something of value.

Do you want a gold medal?  There’s only one way – a commitment.

Do you want to be happy?  There’s only one way – a commitment to Christ.

Jesus said to him, “I am the way, the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.”  John 14:6

1937074_599070755623_6721546_n.jpg

Leave a Reply

