Keeping a Promise

Jake and Holly discussed a drive to “the bush”, the Ndop Plains. I detest car rides and knew it would be crowded. Holly insisted I go. Jake, his son Josh, four HHCH houseparents and I headed to investigate a call about a potential addition to HHCH. A Pastor doing outreach in the village of Bafanji heard about a mother who died days previously, leaving behind a newborn. Since dad and other family members were taking care of the baby we knew we would not be bringing her to HHCH. It is best for children to stay with families. After driving through stunning jungle, mountain and rolling plains, we arrived at Bafanji. Several family members awaited our arrival outside their mud block home. We discussed the child, the cause of the mother’s death, family’s involvement with the baby and why they felt they were incapable of caring for her. The family was capable of caring for the baby but saw the opportunity with HHCH so they insisted they could not provide care for her. We were conflicted about the circumstances but agreed the best decision was to take her. She was tiny and dehydrated. Good care at this point is imperative to her survival. If we heard she did not survive, we would never forgive ourselves for not helping.

(Below – the family home, HHCH staff on left, baby’s family on right)

Image

After we made it explicitly clear we were not raising the baby to become a healthy farmhand for the family in the future, I obtained signatures from the maternal grandmother and father. The village’s custom is for children to go to the maternal family rather than the father if the mother passes. Strange when dad is totally capable. Great example of stark cultural differences. While the father was grieving the loss his wife and the loss of his child to a stranger’s care, he was convinced this was ideal for the baby.

(Below – Dad signing release of custody for the baby to HHCH)

Image

I had to remind myself grief was silently sitting among us. The mother who was a mother to four, wife, sister and daughter, was now gone. The baby, the most recent link to the mother, was leaving. Yet nobody showed emotion. In a moment alone with the sister of the baby’s mother, I quietly told her I was sorry for her loss. She looked at me like it was a guilty indulgence to allow herself to feel the pain of it, said thank you and explained matter-of-factly how the mourning ceremony would proceed.

(Below – the grandmother holding the baby, the aunt of the baby on the right)

Image

One important detail pushing us over the edge to keep the baby was that to this point, nine days after her birth, she did not have a name. This plainly expressed their level of optimism raising the baby girl – they did not name her. Fairly common in villages. We asked them to give her a village name. The grandfather gave her one meaning “tears from the eyes”. Mama Francisca, one of the HHCH staff threw her hands up in the air and adamantly told the man in Pidgin English that would NOT be her name because tears were OVER! The uncle then proclaimed “Mda’ mbou’ mbi” meaning “Except God” or “His promise of hope”. We are keeping a Promise.

Image

(Below – the only family photo Promise may ever have. Definitely something I take for granted.)

Image

The most amazing part of this day was in closing, Pastor Njeru shared the gospel with the family in Pidgin. I could gather the basics of what he said. This guy was not passing an opportunity to leave the family with hope. I never thought I would be witness to an adoption. I know in mine, I am continually grateful and proud my mother made the choice she did. I am grateful I have such wonderful parents who in large part are why I am in Cameroon now. Mostly, I am grateful Jesus died and rose again for my sins so I could be adopted into the family of God. The ultimate Promise kept is knowing that truth. I am excited baby Promise will be raised in that truth at Helping Hands Childrens Home. Meanwhile I will love on her while she stays at our house to get her weight up! For those of you hoping I will change, trust me, I am only good until a diaper needs changed!

(Below, baby Promise weighing in at 2kg = 4.4lbs!)

Image

I get one brag, right? She is so tiny she needed a new stocking cap – I crocheted this myself! I am bit fond of this little baby. She has 30 brothers and sisters anxiously awaiting her arrival. Please pray for her health and steady growth! Check out Helping Hands Childrens Home on Facebook for more updates!

Image

5 thoughts on “Keeping a Promise

  1. Kim

    Well, of course, I have to reply. What an amazing story. I’m so glad you are a part of it! And that’s a pretty snappy hat Miss Promise now owns!
    Love you bunches & gobs : )))

    Reply
  2. jw12990

    Such a neat story, Bethann! God is definitely working in Baby Promise’s life already, I can tell. So glad you get to be there to witness it! The one thing that continues to surprise me the most about other countries is just how basic the houses are. I can’t imagine how one could sleep in such shacks. The houses seem barely able to withstand any sort of weather. There is no electricity in most of them I saw in Mexico. So unreal how their lives are so different from ours in the U.S. Keep serving and updating us on how God is working!

    Reply
  3. Aunt Judi and Uncle John

    Take good care of that little peanut … who knows, maybe God plans on having her live in Iowa?! Don’t forget… I loved you first (right after God and maybe Kim!)

    Reply
  4. Marcie

    Just getting up to date with your blog because EVERYONE is talking about it and I didn’t want to be left out of the action. How exciting to see how God is using, teaching, and therefore, changing you as you trust and cooperate with Him. Praying for you. Marcie

    Reply
  5. Cindy

    What a blessing you are. This story made me cry – a mother’s heart for sure. I placed a son for adoption 24 years ago and I know I did what was right – God has healed that chapter of my life but knowing that the family wasn’t really processing what they were feeling – that is a difficult place to be – I pray God ministers comfort to them in the loss of Promise’s mom and that this little girl grows up to be strong, healthy a mighty witness for our Lord and Savior, Jesus 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

